Ensemble Coaching with Hitomi Oba's Contemporary Jazz Ensemble

Thursday, January 18, 2018
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Schoenberg Music Building - Room 1439

Part of the Jon Jang Residency at UCLA

See below for additional information.


Free and open to the public.


(310) 825-5947



Additional Information

Interpreting the work Reparations Now! Concerto for Large Music Ensemble and Taiko by Jon Jang in commemoration of the 30th Anniversary of the Civil Liberties Act and the victory by Japanese Americans for Redress and Reparations.

Composer-pianist Jon Jang’s epic works include: The Chinese American Symphony; Tiananmen!; Reparations Now! Concerto for Taiko; and co-composed with James Newton, When Sorrow Turns to Joy, a work that pays tribute to Paul Robeson and Mei Lanfang. Jang’s history of collaboration ranges from Max Roach to the Kronos Quartet.

Jang has presented lectures “The Sounds of Struggle: Music from the Black Liberation Movement of the 1960s to the Asian American Movement of the 1980s” and “One Day American, One Day Alien: Black and Brown Artists Who Made the National Anthem Their Own” at Columbia University and other colleges nationally.

Search by Date

← Prev Week | Next Week →

View: Today | This Week | This Month

Homelessness in L.A has surged 75% in six years. Learn More. 100 Years. Knowledge Solves. UCLA.