Jon Jangtet Concert: Making Chinese Music American and Black Music of Resistance

Wednesday, January 17, 2018
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Schoenberg Music Building - Jan Popper Theater

Part of the Jon Jang Residency at UCLA

See below for additional information.


Free and open to the public.


(310) 825-5947


Additional Information

A concert featuring compositions by Jon Jang, performed by Jon on solo piano and with the Jon Jangtet, Hitomi Oba, tenor sax; Trevor Ware, bass; Nick DePinna, trombone; and Miles Senzaki, multiple percussion. (Part of Jon Jang's residency at UCLA.)

Composer-pianist Jon Jang’s epic works include: The Chinese American Symphony; Tiananmen!; Reparations Now! Concerto for Taiko; and co-composed with James Newton, When Sorrow Turns to Joy, a work that pays tribute to Paul Robeson and Mei Lanfang. Jang’s history of collaboration ranges from Max Roach to the Kronos Quartet.

Jang has presented lectures “The Sounds of Struggle: Music from the Black Liberation Movement of the 1960s to the Asian American Movement of the 1980s” and “One Day American, One Day Alien: Black and Brown Artists Who Made the National Anthem Their Own” at Columbia University and other colleges nationally.

Search by Date

← Prev Week | Next Week →

View: Today | This Week | This Month

Homelessness in L.A has surged 75% in six years. Learn More. 100 Years. Knowledge Solves. UCLA.